Future French Environmental Zones

By the national decree for environmental zones Décret ZCR 2016-847 vom 28.06.2016, the French government leaves the decision to the local authorities to define their environmental zones by themselves and to determine their extent.
These zones may consequently include a whole town or parts of the town concerned. The environmental zone (ZCR in France) will then be fixed by a local municipal act after elaboration of an environmental study and the affirmation of the appropriate local politic authorities.

Future environmental zones by the project of "tolerable air city in 5 years"

In September 2015 the French government has selected through a national competition 25 local communities that wish to receive the official name "tolerable air city in 5 years" within the period up to 2020. This means that on a medium and long term plan, the air we breathe and need to live in these cities will be tolerable again, mainly through the establishment of ZCR environmental zones. Five of the 25 local communities have a special status because they do not yet meet the conditions or have already implemented their own projects.

The selected cities and local communities consist of 750 individual cities with a total of 18.4 million inhabitants, who are now planning and implementing in 9 regions 25 different, various air pollution control measures relating to particulates and nitrous oxides. You can find an overview of the regions and local communities as a download here.

The 25 winners of the competition have among other things obliged themselves specifically to plan and set up ZCR environmental zones, provided there are no other measures already in place to improve the air in individual cases. The French Government has made 1 million Euros available in the period up to 2020 for each of the 25 local communities for the planning and implementing of these measures. This serves to finance the costs involved for the desired name "tolerable air city in 5 years”, as well to promote tourism in the region.

Detailed information on the "tolerable air city in 5 years” here.

Order here a French Crit'Air Vignette for French ZCR/ZPA zones




Overview of the local communities below. A list of Local communities and their populations as a pdf-Download here.

Avignon - Communauté d’agglomération d’Avignon
Arras - Communauté urbaine d’Arras
Annemasse - Communauté d’agglomération d’Annemasse
Bordeaux - Métropole de Bordeaux  
Cannes - Communauté d’agglomération du Pays de Lérins – Cannes
Clermont-Ferrand - Métropole de Clermont-Ferrand
Côte Basque-Adour - Communauté d’agglomération Côte Basque-Adour
Dunkerque - Communauté urbaine de Dunkerque
Dijon - Communauté urbaine de Dijon
Epernay - Communauté d’agglomération d’Epernay
Faucigny, Glières, Bonneville Communauté de communes Faucigny-Glières-Bonneville
Grenoble - Métropole de Grenoble
Lyon - Métropole de Lyon
Lille - Métropole de Lille
Le Havre - Communauté d’agglomération du Havre
Montpellier - Métropole de Montpellier
Paris - Mission de préfiguration de la Métropole du Grand Paris
Reims - Métropole de Reims
Rouen - Métropole de Rouen
Saint-Etienne - Métropole de Saint-Etienne
Strasbourg Métropole de Strasbourg
Saint Maur-des-Fossés
Toulouse - Métropole de Toulouse
Vallée de la Marne - CA de la Vallée de la Marne